SWFL Colts win thriller

Headshot of Mitchell Woodcock
Mitchell WoodcockSouth Western Times

The South West Football League have claimed back-to-back CBH Group Country Colts Championships after a thrilling five-point win over the Peel Football-Netball League in today’s grand final.

South Bunbury’s Sebastion Dixon kicked a goal after the siren to give the South West a 9.4 (58) to 8.5 (53) win.

Peel and the South West played out a fantastic contest, with neither side giving in for the entire game.

The game was level at had time, but with two minutes to go in the game Peel took the lead and it looked as if they would cause an upset.

Get in front of tomorrow's news for FREE

Journalism for the curious Australian across politics, business, culture and opinion.


Enter Dixon, who booted the match-winning goal and game the South West their second straight championship.

Peel’s Oliver Walton was awarded the Kim Kernough medal as the best on ground.

Taine Williams was outstanding for the South West with four goals, while Dixon booted two.


Goals: SWFL - T. Williams 4, S. Dixon 2, J. Pickett, K. Triplett, E. Hill. PFNL - O. Walton 3, D. Gardiner/Mckenna 2, J. Hill, W. Steele, D. Power.

Best: SWFL - S. Dixon, T. Horton, L. Hernaman, T. Williams, K. Hickman. PFNL - K. Desando, J. Hewitt, J. Hill, J. Ness, O. Walton.


The South West Football League will battle Peel Football-Netball League in tomorrow's CBH Group Country Colts Championship grand final after going through the round-robin tournament undefeated.

To start the day the SWFL defeated Peel by 16 points thanks to a dominant last half at Bendigo Bank Stadium.

The South West managed just one goal for the first half, but rallied after the break to win 7.9 (51) to 5.5 (35).

Harvey Bulls forward Jacob Pickett was the star with three goals, while excellent performances from Hayden Krikke, Kyle Hickman and Ryan Bennell helped to lift the SWFL to their third win of the tournament.

The SWFL sealed their spot in the grand final later in the day with a 36-point win over the Great Southern Storm.

The Storm booted the first three goals of the match, but soon trailed as the SWFL went on to win 11.8 (74) to 6.2 (38).

Captain Blake Shanahan was best on ground for the SWFL, while South Bunbury forward Sebastion Dixon kicked three goals in the big victory.

The SWFL will play the Peel Cavaliers at 10.40am tomorrow in the grand final.


SWFL 1.4, 7.9 (51) def PFNL 2.5, 5.5 (35)

Goals: SWFL - J. Pickett 3, T. Williams, K. Hickman, S. Dixon, C. White. PFNL - M. Bennell 2, J. Hill, J. Ness, I. Lyndon.

Best: SWFL - H. Krikke, K. Hickman, J. Pickett, R. Bennell, M. Kings. PFNL - Z. Selkirk, K. Donaldson, M. Bennell, R. Allison, J. Cullen.

SWFL 6.5, 11.8 (74) def Great Southern Storm 3.1, 6.2 (38)

Goals: SWFL - S. Dixon 3, T. Horton, T. DeAngelis, E. Hill , J. Pickett, T. Hoffman, K. Triplett, R. Bennell, T. Williams. GSS - C. Shaw, H. McMorran, C. Amores, B. Retallack, J. Scott, C. Hitchcock.

Best: SWFL - B. Shanahan, L. Hernaman, S. Dixon, K. Hickman, M. Kings. GSS - H. McMorran, D. Parriman, C. Shaw, J. Steel, J. Dale.


The South West Football League colts have begun their championship defence with two wins at Bendigo Bank Stadium today.

In a tight first match, the SWFL grabbed a three-point win over Regional Districts.

Both teams traded momentum for much of the game, but when Taine Williams and Jacob Pickett booted their second goals, the SWFL had enough of a lead and won 6.7 (43) to 6.4 (40).

Kale Triplett got the campaign off to a perfect start with the first goal of the game, but Regional Districts gained control and led by four points midway through the term.

Late goals to Pickett and Christopher White allowed the SWFL to take an eight point lead into the break.

But Regional Districts came out firing, with Mitchell Decampo and Nicholas Winters booting goals to grab their side the lead.

Williams and Pickett responded with goals to extend the SWFL’s lead to 11 points and in the end it was enough to see them claim a win.

Things were much easier against the Northern Suns later in the day, with the SWFL claiming a 23-point win.

It was all one-way traffic with the SWFL kicking five of the first six goals on their way to a 5.8 (44) to 3.3 (21) victory.

Eli Hill got the SWFL off to a perfect start, kicking two of the first three goals, with the South West side leading by 20 points before Michael Warrell got the Northern Suns’ first goal on the board.

The SWFL led by 28 points at the break thanks to late goals from Ryan Bennell and Jed Montgomerie.

The last half was much tighter, with Lachlan Hernaman booting the only goal for the SWFL, while Regional Districts gained some momentum ahead of tomorrow’s games with two late goals to Henry Little and Warrell.

The SWFL will take on the Peel Football-Netball League tomorrow at midday, before their final round robin game against Great Southern Storm at 2pm.


SWFL 4.2, 6.7 (43) def Regional Districts 3.2, 6.4 (40)

Goal: SWFL: T. Williams, J. Pickett 2, C. White, K. Triplett. Regional Districts: J. East, B. Blackham, N. Winters, L. Joy, B. East, M. Decampo.

Best: SWFL: S. Dixon, M. Kings, J. Tucker, B. Shanahan, R. Bennell. Regional Districts: B. East, C. Ditchburn, M. Decampo, J. Namnik, B. Eades.

SWFL 5.4, 6.8 (44) def Northern Suns 1.0, 3.3 (21)

Goals: SWFL: E. Hill 2, R. Bennell, J. Montgomerie, L. Hernaman, T. Williams. Northern Suns: M. Warrell 2, H. Little.

Best: SWFL: T. DeAngelis, X. Williamson, R. Bennell, H. Krikke, T. Horton. Northern Suns: M. Walker, J. Dwyer, M. Warrell, M. Wright, K. Simpson.

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails