Onus on flexibility for squad members

Justin FrisSouth Western Times
SWFL coach Jamie Nani is keen to replicate last year’s championship winning effort.
Camera IconSWFL coach Jamie Nani is keen to replicate last year’s championship winning effort. Credit: Justin Fris

Keen to defend its division one crown, the SWFL has announced an impressive training squad for the 2019 Landmark Country Football Championships in Perth next month.

Coach Jamie Nani will convene with his selectors over the coming three weeks, with the squad trimmed to 25 following the completion of Round 12.

“When putting the squad together I invite everyone who was involved last year out of respect,” he said.

“And then we also add names of players who are playing well at present.”

Nani told the South Western Times that the SWFL coaching panel sought feedback from all clubs in order to put together the strongest side possible.

“I go with players who are hopefully able to play multiple positions,” he said.

“Going away with a limited squad, if someone does go down you want to be able to have someone who is able to fill a hole even if they may not usually play there.”

SWFL Landmark training squad: Augusta-Margaret River — Mitch Payne, Harry Taylor, Mitch Lynn, Jack Hick, Linc Adams, Jackson Lavell-Lee, Matt Jukes; Busselton — Mitch Tenardi, Reegan Mrsich, Jackson Arbon, Mathew Harbeck, Matthew Welburn, Damien Lee, Bailey Sanford; Bunbury — Jesse Gribble, Jeffrey Meekin, Denholm King, Mark Longbottom, Brett Peake, Dylan Heasman, Travis Justins, Tyson Wood, Kane Bumann; Collie Eagles — Paul Rinder, Matt Michael, Matt Blackford, Kyle Shanahan, Hayden Yarran; Carey Park — Riese Wilkey, Jaxon Bell, Jeffrey Carter, Aaron Holmes, Sam Read, Rory O’Brien, Tyler Chalwell, Viv Blurton; Donnybrook — Tyler Patterson, Shane Cristaldi, Jace Cormack, Chris Atthowe, Cody Miller, Sam Lowrie, Sean Lynch; Eaton Boomers — Jarrod Humphries, Josh Bowe, Mitchell Kings, Graham Jetta; Harvey Bulls — Jay Collard and Calvin Thorne; Harvey-Brunswick-Leschenault — Ben Musitano, Tom Quaife, Taine Williams, Zavier Williams, Jesse Crichton, Sean Bradley, Tim Yarran, Jack Fletcher, Jono Fenwick; South Bunbury — Brent Latch, Jay Wright, Guy Piggott, Ben Horsman, Josh Ryder, William Butler, William Clemett and Cale Delbridge.

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails