Eaton all-rounder named the best for third time

George GoodwinSouth Western Times

Eaton’s James Hillery beat a host of other fantastic cricketers to claim the Bunbury and Districts Cricket Association’s biggest individual prize, the Dehring-Goodwin Trophy as the competition’s Cricketer of the Year.

Hillery (37 votes) finished two votes ahead of Marist captain Reece O’Connell (35) to claim the award for the third time, having won the award two years ago after a great 2015-16 season.

Dalyellup Beach all-rounder Rodney Shemeld finished third with 28 votes, followed by last year’s winner Murray Goodwin (26) and Leschenault’s James Letchford.

Hillery scored 410 runs and took 23 wickets in a fantastic season, leading the Beavers to the minor premiership and this weekend’s grand final.

Get in front of tomorrow's news for FREE

Journalism for the curious Australian across politics, business, culture and opinion.


O’Connell claimed the first grade batting average award, finishing with 372 runs at 62, while Goodwin won the aggregate award with 422 runs for the season.

Shemeld claimed the most wickets for the season with 32, while Eaton’s Don Seaman won the bowling average award having claimed 15 wickets at just 6.33.

The Peter Shine Shield for minor premiers went to Eaton Beavers, while Matthew Davies was named the competition’s top wicketkeeper.

Leschenault’s Tom Buchanan won the fielding award and Colts youngster Connor Ipsen collected the Jack Birkenshaw Award as the most promising junior.

BDCA treasurer Rob Marshall received life membership.

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails