Follow local government election results online with the South Western Times’ live blog

South Western Times
Local Government elections will be held on October 16.
Camera IconLocal Government elections will be held on October 16. Credit: Picture: Jacinta Cantatore

Residents will be able to follow this Saturday’s local government election results as they unfold via the South Western Times’ live blog.

All 12 South West council elections will be covered from midday as candidates go head-to-head for their chance to represent the community as elected members.

Highlights across the region will include the race in the City of Bunbury, where one of 10 hopefuls will claim the top spot of mayor.

The race is between Deputy Mayor Jaysen De San Miguel and Crs Tresslyn Smith, Amanda Yip, Michelle Steck, Betty McCleary, pictured left, and Cheryl Kozisek, as well as current Capel Shire president Michael Southwell, Gabi Ghasseb, Alfred Leigh and David Kerr.

Shire of Harvey president Paul Gillett is eager to contest his position, and the sentiment is the same among presidents further south.

Collie Shire president Sarah Stanley, Dardanup Shire president Mick Bennett, Donnybrook-Balingup Shire president Brian Piesse and Manjimup Shire president Paul Omodei all hope to extend their tenures in the head role.

City of Busselton Mayor Grant Henley has also thrown his hat in the ring again as he approaches the end of his third term as councillor, as well as Augusta-Margaret River Shire president Ian Earl, who believes his job within the community is far from complete.

The blog is available on the South Western Times’ website and accessible through its Facebook page for The West Australian digital subscribers.

Get the latest news from in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails