Goodwin lauded as best

George GoodwinSouth Western Times

Colts premier batsman Murray Goodwin received the highest honour in the Bunbury and Districts Cricket Association on Sunday night, when he won Cricketer of the Year.

“This truly is an honour,” he said after winning the award at the Leschenault Pavilion.

But the 44-year-old’s was even prouder when his son, 15-year-old Jayden, was called up to receive the Jack Birkenshaw Award for most promising junior player.

Murray was named Cricketer of the Year in the One Day and Twenty-20 competition, finishing the season with a batting average (104.14) and aggregate (729 runs).

Get in front of tomorrow's news for FREE

Journalism for the curious Australian across politics, business, culture and opinion.


The other major award on the night went to Hay Park captain Jono Whitney who won out the Rob Miguel Award for best player to represent the BDCA.

Whitney earlier in the season collected the Brad Hogg WA Country XI Medal after performing well enough at the national titles to be selected in the Australian Country side.

The fielding award went to Joe Barningham, Hay Park coach Chris Waddingham won the bowling aggregate with 30 wickets at 12.77 and Marist’s Reece O’Connell won the bowling average award with 9.73.

Major awards in the minor leagues on the night went Second Grade minor premiers Collie (Phil Nuttall Award) with all-rounder Mark Williams winning the George Goodwin Medal as Cricketer-of-the-Year.

The Third Grade minor premier was Burekup with Quentin Baker Cricketer-of-the-Year followed by Fourth Grade minor premiers Leschenault and Cricketer-of-the-Year Geoff Ryder from Eaton.

In the Fifth Grade, Colts’ Karl Clarke won Cricketer of the Year and his team was the minor premiers.

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails