South West Football League wins 23rd Landmark Country Football Championship with win over Avon

Headshot of Mitchell Woodcock
Mitchell WoodcockThe West Australian
The victorious South West Football League team
Camera IconThe victorious South West Football League team Credit: Mitchell Woodcock

The South West Football League claimed its 23rd Landmark Country Football Championships Division One title after defeating the Avon Football Association by 38 points in the grand final at Claremont Oval today.

After winning all their preliminary matches, the South West atoned for two-straight grand final losses to win 9.6 (60) to 3.4 (22) and claim back their mantle as the best league in country WA.

For the fifth-consecutive game the South West conceded the first goal when Garrick Mclaughlin converted a set shot for Avon.

But the South West responded in kind with goals to Leigh Kohlmann, Bailey Sanford, Jace Cormack and Brent Latch as they quickly took control.

The SWFL team celebrates a goal.
Camera IconThe SWFL team celebrates a goal.

The South West’s midfield began to dominate, with Sean Lynch, Jesse Crichton, Liam McKenna and Guy Piggott having too much pace for Avon.

Avon worked harder in the second quarter around the contests and limited the room the South West had to work with.

Daniel Curtis kicked the first goal of the term for Avon, who again got a good start, but the South West tightened up in defence and gave their forward line plenty of opportunities to score.

Their momentum was halted though when Busselton defender was stretched off the ground after suffering a nasty injury to his left ankle late in the term.

Brenth Latch gets a kick away for the SWFL.
Camera IconBrenth Latch gets a kick away for the SWFL. Credit: Mitchell Woodcock

This seemed to take all the energy out of the South West, who began to struggle in the clinches against Avon.

Most times the South West went forward they kicked in Kohlmann’s direction and the leaping forward was causing all sorts of problems for Avon’s defence.

Jay Wright was stout in defence alongside senior players Kane Bumann and Mat Michael, as they held off Avon who pushed hard to reduce the margin.

Jace Cormack tangles with an Avon opponent.
Camera IconJace Cormack tangles with an Avon opponent.

It took almost 16 minutes for the first goal of the third term to be kicked, when Crichton snapped truly from 40m to increase the margin.

As the game went on the South West began to break it open, but their entry inside their forward line and shots at goal were costing them a greater lead.

Wright did not play after the three-quarter time break though after suffering a shoulder injury.

Goals to Lynch and Crichton put the result beyond doubt as the South West claimed the title.

SWFL 4.1 6.3 7.4 9.6 60

AFA 1.2 2.3 2.4 3.4 22

Goals: SWFL – L. Kohlmann, J. Crichton 2, B. Sanford, J. Cormack, B. Latch, G. Piggott, S. Lynch AFA – G. McLaughlin, D. Curtis, R. Forrest,

Best: SWFL – J. Cormack, J. Crichton, S. Lynch, T. Justins, L. McKenna, K. Bumann. AFA – H. Richards, R. Forrest, N. Deblecourt, M. Outridge, N. Taylor, S. Caccetta.

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails