Twenty20 cricket to start bumper season

Headshot of Mitchell Woodcock
Mitchell WoodcockSouth Western Times
Colts batsman Jayden Goodwin scored 42 runs to lead his side to last season’s Twenty20 Championship.
Camera IconColts batsman Jayden Goodwin scored 42 runs to lead his side to last season’s Twenty20 Championship. Credit: Jon Gellweiler / South Western Times

Cricket returns to the region this weekend with the Bunbury and Districts Cricket Association’s Twenty20 competition.

The coloured clothing will be donned again and the sixes are going to fly, with seven First Grade teams to compete for the title of BDCA Twenty20 champion.

Colts are the reigning champions, having defeated Hay Park by five wickets in last year’s grand final.

Coach Murray Goodwin said starting the season with Twenty20 games was “something different”.

Get in front of tomorrow's news for FREE

Journalism for the curious Australian across politics, business, culture and opinion.


“It feels like we have started the season early,” he said.

“All the clubs are in the same boat and have to get into the swing of things.”

Goodwin said he was pleased with how his side was shaping ahead of their first two games.

“We have lost a few players, but I am confident we can put on a good show,” he said.

Goodwin is no stranger to the shortest format of the game, playing 120 domestic Twenty20 matches from 2003 to 2014, including two centuries.

He said that it was a different game and required more skills at times to get ahead and take control.

“You have to be thinking on your feet all the time,” he said.

“There is never a moment you can lapse. One over can change the game, where as in a one-day game three or four may change it.”

To begin the round at 11am, Dalyellup Beach will take on Hay Park at Dalyellup College, Colts and Eaton will play at the Recreation Ground and Leschenault will battle Collie in Leschenault.

Then from 2.30pm the second round will take place, with Marist entering the picture to play against Dalyellup Beach at Forrest Park, while Colts host Leschenault and Hay Park battle Eaton.

In all four grades of teams will compete in the competition.

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails