SWFL to play in Landmark decider

Headshot of Mitchell Woodcock
Mitchell WoodcockSouth Western Times

The South West Football League will play the Peel Cavaliers in tomorrow’s grand final after belting the Avon Football Association by 66 points at Fremantle Oval today.

It was all run and gun for the South West, who completely dominated Avon to win 11.10 (76) to 1.4 (10).

South West wingman Shane Cristaldi takes off on a run.
Camera IconSouth West wingman Shane Cristaldi takes off on a run.

The South West dominated the opening half, but kicked just the four goals from their 11 shots.

Get in front of tomorrow's news for FREE

Journalism for the curious Australian across politics, business, culture and opinion.


Houghton was the catalyst, booting three goals in a dominant display until half-time.

The South West’s run and carry was too much for Avon, who had no answer to the onslaught.

South West’s Blair Della Franca takes a screamer.
Camera IconSouth West’s Blair Della Franca takes a screamer.

When Brett Peake kicked a goal before half-time to extend the lead to 29 points it seemed the game was done and dusted.

Braiden McMullen and Jayce Fontana kicked goals quickly after half-time to extend the margin to 41 points, seemingly putting the result beyond doubt.

Avon tried to fight back, but South West captain Will Oelsnik along with defenders Mason Hislop and Travis Justins worked tirelessly to keep them at bay.

Avon finally kicked a goal 12 minutes into the final half through Brendan Ogg, but there was little left to celebrate after that for Avon who could not stop the dominant South West.

Late goals to Guy Piggott and Blair Della Franca put the icing on the cake for the South West.

The South West will take on the Peel Football-Netball League at Medibank Stadium at 1pm.

SWFL 4.6 11.10 (76)

AFA 0.1 1.4 (10)

Goals: SWFL – J. Houghton 3, T. Wood, B. Peake, B. McMullen, J. Fontana, A. Clarke, P. Farrant, G. Piggott, B. Della Franca. AFA – B. Ogg.

Best: SWFL – A. Clarke, B. Della Franca, J. Houghton, S. Cristaldi, T. Justins, B. Peake. AFA – F. Perry, K. Fulgrabe, K. Cranley, L. York.

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails